Skip to content

Barrett, Sones advance to runoff in Senate race

A field of nine candidates in a race for the open Senate District 39 seat was narrowed to two in a special election Tuesday. Approximately 2,640 voters went to the polls across Lawrence County yesterday, a fraction of the approximately 8,700 registered voters.

District wide, Bill Sones and Jason Barrett appear headed for a runoff on October 13. At this time, election results have not been certified.

In Lawrence County, Barrett received 1,014 votes, Beth Brown, 190; Cindy S. Bryan; 322; Mike Campbell, 67; Josh Davis, 113; Ben Johnson, 59; Michael Smith, 501; Prentiss Smith, 138 and Sones, 239.