Skip to content

Trump, Hyde-Smith carry Lawrence County

Lawrence County voters turned out yesterday in record numbers to cast their votes for President, Congress, and ballot referendums.
County voters cast the majority of their votes for Donald Trump for President, Cindy Hyde-Smith for Senate, and Michael Guest for House of Representatives.
Approximately county 6,669 voters cast a ballot in the election, for an approximate 76% turnout of the 8,741 registered voters in the county.
Trump received 4,254 votes to Joe Biden’s 2,240. Others in the race included Don Blankenship, 11; Brian Carroll, 5; Phil Collins, 5; Howie Hankins, 8; Joe Jorgensen, 17; Brock Pierce, 1; and Kanye West, 19. Statewide, it appears Trump won the night. However, the race is too close to call nationwide, and indications are it could be days or even weeks before a clear winner is identified.
For U. S. Senate, Lawrence County native Hyde-Smith received 4,193 votes to challenger Mike Espy’s 2,295. Jimmy L. Edwards received 56. Hyde-Smith won statewide with roughly 57% of the vote.

Read the full story in the November 4, 2020 E-Edition