Skip to content

Lee Edward Earls Sr.

Funeral services for Lee Edward Earls Sr. were held June 16, 2020, at Old Silver Creek Baptist Church, Silver Creek, with a graveside service immediately following. Rev. Darrel Daniels, Rev. Eddie Martin, and Rev. J. Roy McComb officiated the service. Wilson Funeral Home handled arrangements.
Mr. Lee, 85 years old, of Old Silver Creek, passed from this life on June 13, 2020. He was born on June 19, 1934, in Wesson, to the late Lee Virgil Earls and Margurette Furlow Earls.
Upon completion of high school, Mr. Earls served his country for four years in the United States Marine Corps. Following his time in the Marines, he returned to Wesson and attended Copiah-Lincoln Community College before pursuing a career in the oilfield.
In 1960, he married the love of his life, Elaine Gaspard, of New Orleans, La. They were happily married for 59 years, with four loving children.
In 1966, they settled in the Old Silver Creek community where he started a dairy farm and operated a sawmill. He also served the Lawrence County area as a Justice Court Judge for 16 years and served in law enforcement as a constable for eight years.
He was a loving husband, father, grandfather, brother, and friend, who loved spending time with his family. He had a love for fishing and playing dominos, as he holds the title of 1999 World Domino Champion. Mr. Earls was a member of Old Silver Creek Baptist Church.
Preceding him in death were his parents; brothers, Randolph, George, Ronnie, and Mitchell Earls; and sisters, Irene Earls Ramsey and Ina Earls Taylor. Those left to cherish his memories are his wife, Elaine; son, Lee (Samantha), of Silver Creek; daughters, Robin Mitchell (Jeff), of Jayess; Liz Pope (John), of Meridian; Jenny Hall (James), of Silver Creek; sisters, Donnis Renfroe, of Brookhaven; Janice Inabnet, of Wesson; brother, Jerry Glynn Earls, of Wesson; 10 grandkids, eight great-grandkids; and a host of nieces and nephews.
Pallbearers were Cody Earls, Caleb Earls, Jesse Hall, Randy Earls, Herbert Ramsey, and Clint Earls. Honorary pallbearers include Clay Earls, Terrell Earls, Terry Inabnet, Jerry Inabnet Jr., Donnie Nevels, Gary Hartzog, Mike Clark, Nick Daley, Stanley Buffington, Bert Jackson, and Bobby Britt.